Eagles Start Indoor Season At Tiffin Open

Jamie Sindelar
Jamie Sindelar

Strong starts by newcomers highlighted the 2015-16 indoor track season opener for Ashland University's men's and women's teams at the Tiffin Alumni Open on Saturday (Dec. 5). 

On the women's side, senior Lauren Ellsworth, a transfer from Shippensburg, won both the 60-meter dash (7.72 seconds) and the 200 dash (25.71), and was a member of the winning 4x400 relay team (4:00.81), along with junior Nuri Lee, senior Abby Strock and sophomore Irene Skinner

For the AU men, freshman Myles Pringle took the title in the high jump (2.0m/6-feet-6.75), was runner-up in the 300 dash (35.23) and was third in the 4x400 relay (3:27.41), along with junior William Robinson, freshman Michael Hartway and senior Eric Thompkins.

Winning individual events on the women's side were sophomore Haley Gregory in the 60 hurdles (8.91), sophomore Abby Shafer in the high jump (1.61m/5-feet-3.25) and senior Jamie Sindelar in the shot put (16.25m/53-feet-3.75). 

Junior Bryn Campbell won the men's weight throw title with a mark of 19.99m/65-feet-7.

The Eagles will conclude the first semester at the Kent State Golden Flash Gala on Friday (Dec. 11) and Saturday (Dec. 12).