23 Eagles Earn Entry To Division II Track & Field Nationals

Jamie Sindelar
Jamie Sindelar

The NCAA announced on Tuesday (May 12) that 23 Ashland University athletes will compete at the 2015 Division II Championships on May 21-23 in Allendale, Mich.

Fifteen Eagle men and eight AU women have earned entry to nationals.

Junior Elijha Owens will compete at nationals in three events – the 110-meter high hurdles, 400-meter intermediate hurdles and as part of the 4x100-meter relay team. Sophomore Jason Zahn will take part in two events – the shot put and discus throw.

Six AU men will compete in the hammer throw – seniors Zac Ball, Jared Conklin and Mack Taylor, sophomores Bryn Campbell and Jordan Crayon and freshman Clayton Jury. In addition to Owens, freshman Halen Witcher and juniors Brandon Freeman and Eric Thompkins will be members of the 4x100 relay.

Senior Drew Windle will look to add to his trophy case in the final 800-meter runs of his collegiate career, senior Waquiem Comar is in the 400-meter intermediate hurdles, junior Nick Hall qualifies in the 1,500-meter run and freshman Elijah Talk will compete in the shot put.

On the women's side, five athletes – seniors Jennifer Bjelac (long jump, heptathlon), Jessica Bridenthal (shot put, hammer throw) and Shatora Lewis (shot put, discus throw), junior Jamie Sindelar (shot put, discus throw) and sophomore Megan Tomei (shot put, hammer throw) – will compete in two events each.

Senior Jennifer Foster will compete in the high jump, senior Kim Habegger will go in the hammer throw and freshman Irene Skinner is in the 400-meter dash.