AU Swimmers, Divers Claim Victory Against Tiffin

AU Swimmers, Divers Claim Victory Against Tiffin

The Ashland swimming and diving teams took on the Dragons of Tiffin University Saturday afternoon (Oct. 25), and both found success.

The Eagle men beat Tiffin, 199-94, and the women were victorious, 178-105.

The men's side was highlighted by numerous outstanding performances. Ryan Deemer took first in the 1,000-yard freestyle (10:23.42), just edging out Tiffin's Ty Collins by four seconds. Freshman Nicholas Noe won the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:47.96. Fridtjof Hunges claimed gold in the 200-yard IM in 2:05.14. Sophomore, Greg Walters touched first in the 100-yard breaststroke and the 200-yard breaststroke. Calvin Higdon won the 100- and 200-yard butterfly. And Sergio Sanchis Peris claimed victory in the 100- and 200-yard backstroke, as well as the 50-yard freestyle.

The men's relays also did well against Tiffin. In the 200-yard medley relay, the combo of Peris, Walters, Higdon and Logan Rex finished first in a combined time of 1:36.22. The 200-yard freestyle combo of Noe, Josh Nixon, Zak Duncan and Rex narrowly beat Tiffin with a time of 1:28.85.

AU divers Bryce Buderer and Matt Dixon won the one- and three-meter diving, respectively.

The women also turned in stellar performances. AU's Hannah Mattar edged Tiffin's Melinda Ulbrecht by one one-hundredth of a second in the 100-yard breaststroke (1:08.02). She also was victorious in the 200-yard IM and 200-yard breaststroke. Freshman Kathryn Randall was crowned in the 1,000-yard freestyle with a time of 11:03.54. Megan Schultz won the 100-yard backstroke in 1:01.71. Michaela Teague took the 500-yard freestyle in 5:23.66. Kaylyn Murphy won the 50- and 100-yard freestyles.

The Eagles will return to Messerly Natatorium on November 15th. The meet against Wayne State will begin at 1 p.m.