Mattar, 400 Free Relay Win On Final Day

Mattar, 400 Free Relay Win On Final Day

The 2014 GLIAC Swimming and Diving Championships concluded Saturday night (Feb. 15) with the AU men in third place and the Ashland women in fourth place.

The Eagles won a pair of gold medals on Saturday. Also, Philipp Sikatzki was named the men's swimmer of the year and freshman of the year. Sikatzki won three individual events.

Sophomore Hannah Mattar won a GLIAC championship in the 200 breaststroke on Saturday. Her time was 2:14.18. That is a GLIAC Championships record and it hits the A standard for the NCAA championships.

The women's 400 free relay won a conference crown in 3:26.70. That time is a B cut. The members of the relay are Kaylyn Murphy, Gabriela Verdugo-Arzaluz, Anna Evans and Sara Reidler.

Murphy's day also included a second place finish in the 100 freestyle (50.91).

The men's 400 free relay was second (2:59.35). Hueston Holder, Sergio Sanchis Peris, Alex Sheil and Sikatzki competed in the race.

Wayne State won the men's championship with 1011.5 points. Grand Valley State (894.5) was second and Ashland (500) was third. Seven teams were in pursuit of the league title.

The Wayne State women won the GLIAC championship with 959 points. Grand Valley State (667) was second, Northern Michigan (576) was third and AU (454) was fourth. Ten women's teams made up the field.

The GLIAC Championships were held in Geneva, Ohio at the SPIRE Institute. The NCAA Championships will be held at the same venue.