Greyhounds End AU's Season At Regional

Jamie Weber
Jamie Weber

The AU softball team saw its season end on Saturday afternoon (May 10) with a 2-1 loss to Indianapolis at the NCAA Division II Midwest Regional Tournament.

Indianapolis, ranked 13th in the country, scored two runs in the bottom of the sixth inning to wipe out a 1-0 Ashland lead. Both the Eagles and Greyounds were fighting for their lives. AU had lost to Wayne State on the first day of this double elimination tournament and Indianapolis had lost to Grand Valley State.

This was AU's sixth consecutive trip to the postseason. The Eagles end the year with a 27-20 record.

The game was scoreless through five innings as AU's Sarah Alley and Morgan Foley of Indianapolis dominated the action. The Eagles scored their first run of the tournament in the top of the sixth inning. Alley led off with a single and moved to second base on a sacrifice bunt by Kayla Prokopakis. Shelbie Prince was retired on a popup to second base and Jen Moore walked.

Jamie Weber delivered a two-out, RBI single to left center field to bring home Alley and give the Eagles their first lead of the tournament.

That advantage didn't last long. In the bottom of the sixth inning, Taylor Russell singled and Alexa Alfaro walked. Jenny Thompson moved both runners up a base with a sacrifice bunt and Taylor Weck doubled down the left field line to score both runners.

Alley worked out of the inning without allowing another run, but AU couldn't push a run across in the top of the seventh inning. Carly West singled and got as far as second base, but she was erased by a fielder's choice. The game ended with a runner on first base.

The Eagles out-hit the Greyhounds, 8-4.

Alley (11-9) pitched a complete game, allowing two runs on four hits. She walked five and struck out three. Foley (32-7), allowed a run on eight hits. She walked one and had four strikeouts.

Indianapolis (43-12) now plays Grand Valley State in another elimination game late Saturday afternoon. In Saturday's first game, GVSU lost to Wayne State. The Warriors, winners of 18 straight, have yet to lose in this tournament.