Meyer Voted Tino Martinez Award Finalist

Ajay Meyer
Ajay Meyer

ASHLAND, Ohio – Just as he cruised through 103 innings this season, senior pitcher Ajay Meyer (Hamler, Ohio/Patrick Henry/Owens CC) is gliding through the voting for the Tino Martinez Award.

The right-hander was selected as one of eight finalists for the award, which is presented to the most outstanding player in Division II college baseball by A national panel of media, coaches and sports information officers was polled to finalize the list of candidates.

The group will once again vote on the finalists and an internet vote will also contribute to the crowning of the winner, which will be announced after the conclusion of the NCAA Championships (May 28 – June 4).


Fans are able to vote up to twice per day through May 30.

"It's a great honor to be one of the last eight remaining the country," said AU head coach John Schaly. "He's had a great season and he deserves it."

Meyer finished one of the best pitching seasons in AU history. He set the single-season record for complete games with 11. He was 9-3 with a 1.57 ERA and struck out a GLIAC-high 95 batters. His 103 innings pitched also led the league. Opponents batted just .190 off him and he had a WHIP of just 0.83.

"He was a dominant pitcher," said Schaly. "He's one of the best we've ever had here and we've had some good ones."

Meyer also made three relief appearances on the season and earned two saves. In nine of his 16 appearances, he allowed zero earned runs.

In his final game of the season, the Hamler, Ohio native tossed 11 innings in the Eagles first round GLIAC Tournament game against Wayne State. He allowed just three earned runs and threw 97 strikes in 143 pitches.

Just before that game, he was named the GLIAC's Pitcher of the Year for the second time in his career. He missed 2010 with an injury, but was a first team All-Midwest Region performer in 2009.  

Meyer also threw the first one-hitter of his career on May 7 in a 3-0 win over Hillsdale. It was his third shutout of the season.

Following are the eight Tino Martinez Award finalists:

OF Matt Johnson, Arkansas Tech

SP Ajay Meyer, Ashland

1B Dean Green, Barry

OF Chase Larsson, Cameron

SP Ryan Thompson, Franklin Pierce

SP Carter Capps, Mount Olive

DH Nathan Minnich, Shepherd

OF Dodson McPherson, Wingate