Pringle, Track And Field Dominate Third ASHPYs

Pringle, Track And Field Dominate Third ASHPYs

Ashland University junior Myles Pringle is a three-time NCAA Division II national champion.

On Sunday (April 29) night, Pringle was a four-time ASHPY award winner, highlighting the third Eagle athletics awards show, presented by AU's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee in the Upper Convocation Center.

Pringle won ASHPYs for 2017-18 Male Athlete of the Year, 2017-18 Best Championship Performance, 2017 Spring Male Athlete, and 2017 Spring Moment. The spring moment was Pringle having his brother, Anthony, on the podium at 2017 D-II outdoor nationals – and the Pringle brothers were together again at the podium on Sunday night.

"It was nice," Pringle said. "People were probably like, 'Oh, got to see Myles again. He was just up here five minutes ago.' It was pretty cool. I knew, for this award, if I would have won it, I was going to give it to him. I'm sure he really liked it a lot."

In the last two years, Pringle has garnered six ASHPY awards.

Pringle's big night led a big night overall for the Eagle track and field/cross country program overall. Head coach Jud Logan was named 2017-18 Coach of the Year, redshirt freshman Gianna DiPippo is the 2017-18 Female Freshman of the Year, senior Hannah Bartlome is the 2017 Spring Female Athlete, and Tyler Lance was named the 2017-18 Eagle of the Year.

The most emotional award of the night was presented to junior men's basketball guard Nick Bapst, whose career ended in the fall following a scrimmage at Findlay. Bapst is the 2017-18 Perseverance & Courage Award recipient.

"That meant the world to me," said Jay Slone, Ashland SAAC President and men's basketball junior guard. "Him being one of my best friends, one of my teammates, like a brother, that award doesn't quite signify what his life means to us."

"That was awesome," Bapst said. "It's encouraging to see all these people here when, I knew, in that situation, that time, they were the ones praying for me. They were the ones sending up their prayers every day, and that just means a lot to me personally. Getting it from Jay…that's just a wonderful feeling."

Women's basketball was the next most prolific program on Sunday night, taking home five ASHPYs – sophomore guard Jodi Johnson (2017-18 Female Athlete of the Year), sophomore guard Renee Stimpert (2017-18 Play of the Year), senior forward Julie Worley (2017-18 GPA Award), and the team for the 2017-18 Record-Breaking Performance and Community Service Award.

"For the squad, we had our banquet earlier (today), just looking back on our season and the memories we made throughout the year," Johnson said. "Just to be with them one last time before we go out for the summer was something special."

ASHPY awards also were won on Sunday by senior swimmer Zoe Scarpone (2017-18 Senior Leader Award), the men's and women's swimming and diving teams (2017-18 Spirit Award), junior wrestler Deaken McCoy and his mother (2017-18 Best Moment), the Eagle football team (2017-18 Game of the Year), football redshirt freshman tight end Michael Schweitzer (2017-18 Male Freshman of the Year), men's basketball senior forward Wendell Davis (2017-18 Best Comeback), and sophomore women's golfer Krystal Hu (2017-18 International Athlete).

Slone announced prior to the ASHPY's that SAAC had raised $3,500 so far this school year for the Make-A-Wish Foundation.

"SAAC's just such an awesome organization, the impact we can make on somebody's life with Make-A-Wish," Bapst said. "That's the most important part of it. That just makes the night even better."

The 2018 ASHPY's were sponsored by Spherion.