Labry Earns Second GLIAC Wrestler Of The Year Honor

Labry Earns Second GLIAC Wrestler Of The Year Honor


Six Ashland University wrestlers were recognized when the 2016-17 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference awards were announced on Wednesday (Feb. 22) morning.

Topping the lists was 133-pound redshirt senior Michael Labry, who earned his second GLIAC Wrestler of the Year honor. Labry also garnered the award in 2014-15 as a junior.

Labry, a three-time All-American, is 28-1 this season with 93 takedowns and nine wins via major decision. He will enter the Super Region II tournament on Friday (Feb. 24) and Saturday (Feb. 25) as the No. 1-ranked 133-pound wrestler in the region and country, according to the Division II Wrestling Coaches Association Polls that were released on Friday (Feb. 17 and Monday (Feb. 20).

He has held those No. 1 spots since the initial regular-season poll was released on Dec. 13.

On Dec. 4, Labry became Ashland wrestling's all-time wins leader, and he is now up to 140 in his career as an Eagle. Labry also won his fourth career Midwest Classic title on Dec. 18, becoming just the second wrestler in the 38-year history of the event to do that.

Of the four GLIAC teams, Ashland had the most wrestlers featured as first-team All-GLIAC. Joining Labry on that list is 165-pound redshirt freshman Bret Romanzak, 184-pound redshirt junior Jordan Murphy and 197-pound redshirt junior Luke Cramer.

Sebastian Vidika, a 125-pound redshirt sophomore, and Colton Ullman, a 157-pound sophomore, were tabbed second-team All-GLIAC.