AU Finishes Fifth at Midwest Classic

The Ashland University wrestling team closed out the first semester on Sunday (Dec. 19) by finishing fifth out of 21 teams at the Midwest Classic.  The event was held in Indianapolis.

Newberry won the tournament title with 169 points.  Upper Iowa (133) was the runnerup and North Carolina-Pembroke (102.5) was third.  Campbellsville (97) was fourth and the Eagles (90.5) were fifth.  A week ago at Newberry, Ashland defeated Campbellsville and lost to UNC-Pembroke.

Ashland was third after the first day of competition.  AU's best finish was turned in by senior Brandon Kelly (Fort Myers, Fla./Newberry), who was the runnerup at 174 pounds.  Kelly, seeded second in the tourney, went 3-1 and is 7-1 this season.  He lost in the title bout to the top seed, Ohio Northern's Kyle Kwiat, 6-2.

The Eagles received a fourth place finish from junior Marc Hoff (Liberty Center, Ohio) at 157 pounds.  Hoff was seeded eighth and won his first two matches.  His second win of the day was an 8-1 triumph over top-seeded Nick Walpole of Indianapolis.  Hoff lost in the consolation finals to the second seed, Sean Byrnes of Newberry. Byrnes pinned Hoff in 3:49.

Senior Kyle Kanaga (Greensboro, N.C./Ragsdale) was fifth at 149 pounds.  At 285 pounds, junior Jacob Southwick (Bowling Green, Ohio/Otsego) was also fifth. Three Ashland wrestlers finished seventh. That trio included junior Scott Meyer (Ravenna, Ohio) at 133 pounds, sophomore Dan Genetin (Navarre, Ohio/Massillon Perry) at 149 pounds and

Ashland will return to action on Jan. 8 when it hosts the Mid-Atlantic Dual Championships. (See the schedule on the wrestling page of the website for complete brackets).

Top 10 Teams – 2010 Midwest Classic

Place               Team                                      Score

1                      Newberry                                169.0

2                      Upper Iowa                             133.0

3                      UNC-Pembroke                      102.5

4                      Campbellsville                            97.0

5                      Ashland                                    90.5

6                      Northern State                           81.0

7                      Ohio Northern                           71.5

8                      Trine                                          69.5

9                      King College                             57.5

10                    Indianapolis                              53.0