James, Schaly Highlight 2015 GLIAC Baseball Award Winners

James, Schaly Highlight 2015 GLIAC Baseball Award Winners

Ashland University senior second baseman Stephen James and Eagles head coach John Schaly each have earned 2015 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference postseason awards.

James is this year's GLIAC Player of the Year, and Schaly is the 2015 conference Coach of the Year. The 2015 All-GLIAC Baseball Teams and Postseason Awards were announced on Wednesday (May 6) night.

James established himself as one of the GLIAC's top performers from Day 1 this season, and finished the regular season leading the conference in RBIs (47), runs scored (58), doubles (17), home runs (11) and slugging percentage (.713). He also was second in the GLIAC in hits (69), third in batting average (.388) and tied for third in triples (four).

Schaly guided the Eagles to not only the GLIAC regular-season championship with a 22-10 conference mark, but the first-ever GLIAC South Division championship, as well. AU's record-season title is its fourth under Schaly, and this is his sixth GLIAC Coach of the Year honor. Ashland's 33-15 regular-season record overall led GLIAC schools.

Schaly's 1,000th collegiate win came on March 1, and earned him a spot with his father, Don, as the only father-son combo at four-year institutions to each win at least 1,000 games.

James also earned All-GLIAC first-team honors, along with junior designated hitter Blake Bellman (.387, 10 doubles, four home runs, 39 RBIs), junior first baseman Mackenzie Hampshire (.373, nine doubles, three home runs, 26 RBIs), junior infielder Mike Lewandowski (.354, seven doubles, 17 RBIs) and junior pitcher Jake Baldwin (8-1, 2.70 earned run average).

All-GLIAC second-team awards were earned by sophomore outfielder Joey Gonzalez (.329, seven doubles, five home runs, 29 RBIs), sophomore pitcher Brandyn Sittinger (3-1, 3.47) and junior pitcher Alex Smith (2-2, nine saves, 3.67 ERA).

Senior outfielder Kyle Brooks (.298, eight doubles, 33 RBIs) and junior pitcher Art Warren (4-3, 3.26) each earned All-GLIAC honorable mention.

The 2015 GLIAC postseason awards also included Ohio Dominican junior pitcher Ryan Colegate (Pitcher of the Year), Ohio Dominican's Lee Sponseller (Freshman Player of the Year), Saginaw Valley's Michael Ellenbest (Freshman Pitcher of the Year) and Wayne State redshirt senior Christian Bilkovic (Troy Berry Award).

Ashland will begin GLIAC Tournament play on Thursday (May 7) at 2 p.m. against Wayne State at the Athletes in Action Sports Complex in Xenia, Ohio.